Euro Cup 2020 quarterfinal in St. Petersburg allows 50-percent attendance of spectators

This article was originally published on this site, click here to view the original

ST. PETERSBURG, June 24. /TASS/. A quarterfinal match of the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup, scheduled for July 2 in Russia’s Saint Petersburg, will be organized offering a 50-percent audience attendance out of the stadium’s total capacity, Russian Sports Minister Oleg Matytsin said on Thursday.

“I am confident that this quarterfinals match [in St. Petersburg] will be of great interest for everyone,” Matytsin said. “The stadium will be filled with spectators up to its 50-percent capacity level. It is about the allowed number [of spectators] and we cannot increase it, but we hope that spectators of the match will certainly enjoy the game.”

St. Petersburg is gearing up to host a quarterfinal on July 2 between the winners of France-Switzerland and Croatia-Spain matches of the championship’s Last 16 Round.

2020 UEFA Euro Cup

The 2020 UEFA Euro Cup, which was postponed last year over the global outbreak of the novel coronavirus, runs between June 11 and July 11, 2021 and Russia’s second-largest city of St. Petersburg was picked as one of its venues. It was among the 12 cities initially proposed in Europe to host European championship matches. St. Petersburg was granted the right to host three group stage matches and one of the quarterfinals of the 2020 UEFA Euro Cup.

On April 23, St. Petersburg was granted the right to host three additional matches of the UEFA Euro Cup after Ireland’s Dublin and Spain’s Bilbao pulled out of the organization of the European football championship games citing anti-COVID-19 measures.

Following the pullout of Bilbao and Dublin from the list of the championship’s hosting cities, the rescheduled 2020 UEFA Euro Cup is now staged in 11 cities, namely in London, England; Munich, Germany; Rome, Italy; Baku, Azerbaijan; St. Petersburg, Russia; Bucharest, Romania; Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Budapest, Hungary; Glasgow, Scotland; Copenhagen, Denmark; and Seville, Spain.